Non-Depository Services Division

 

2016 Emergency Flood Declarations
Check Cashers
Licensed Lenders
Residential Mortgage Lenders
Pawnbrokers
Payday Lenders
Repossession Agents

Disaster Mortgage Servicing Guidelines (FNMA, FHLMC, & FHA)

HUD Announces Disaster Assistance for Louisiana

Contact Information Complaints Bond for Deed Check Cashers
 
Collection Agencies Consumer Loan Broker Credit Repair Insurance Premium Finance
Licensed Lenders Notification Filers Pawnbrokers
 Payday Lenders/Deferred Presentment/Small Loan Lenders
Residential Mortgage Lenders/Brokers
Repossession Agents

Sale of Checks/Money Orders/Transmitters



Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System ("NMLS")

  NMLS Website
  NMLS Training Schedule
►  NMLS Call Center Toll Free Number -- 1-855-NMLS-123 or 1-855-665-7123

NMLS Hours of Operation and Call Center Hours



Emergency Declaration

Licensed Lender 2015 Annual Report
Due March 1, 2016
Advisory Opinion/Instructions
Form


OFI Earns Mortgage Supervision Re-accreditation

2014 Legislation Summary

NMLS Approved Course Providers
Updated Weekly

NMLS Master Course Catalog
Updated Monday-Friday

Office of Motor Vehicles
Mandates Electronic Lien and Title Services

(1-877-368-5463)
Effective January 1, 2010

NOTICE:  Most non-depository programs require that a licensee pay a fee and provide
prior written notification of any changes such as: 
● change of control in ownership or stock transfers,
● change of name,
● change of location,
● change in legal identity,
● addition of trade name, etc.

To avoid severe penalties for failure to provide prior written notice, contact this office
at least 30 days prior to any changes that you may be considering.
 


IMPORTANT! Applicants are not licensed to operate until a license is received.


 

This division is responsible for the licensing, supervision, and regulation of 11 programs.  For brief descriptions of the types of entities supervised by this division, click here.  Click here for information regarding filing a complaint   The e-mail address for the Non-Depository Division is ofiland@ofi.la.gov  

Program Descriptions

Bond for Deed
Persons designated by the parties to a bond for deed transaction to distribute payments made by the buyer to the holder of a mortgage in the real property subject to the transaction.
Check Cashers  
A person, unless otherwise exempt, who accepts compensation for cashing checks, drafts, money orders, or other commercial paper.
Licensed Lenders
Persons engaged in the business of making consumer loans and financing insurance premiums (finance companies).
Notification Filers
Persons engaged in selling goods or services on credit and person who take assignment of an undertake direct collection of payments from or enforcement of rights against debtors arising from these sales or loans.
Pawnbrokers
Persons who lend money on a deposit or pledge or who take items into possession as security for money advanced.
Deferred Presentment and Small Loans (Payday Lenders)
Persons who make loans of $350 or less for a term of 60 days or less.  Deferred presentment transactions are small loans of $350 or less where the lender accepts a check from the borrower and agrees to hold it for a period of 30 days or less prior to negotiation or presentment to the bank.
Repossession Agents
Persons who physically obtain possession of collateral for a secured party and engage in the business or accept employment to locate and recover collateral pursuant to the Louisiana Default Remedies Act, R.S. 6:965, et seq.
Residential Mortgage Lenders/Brokers
Persons who, for compensation or the expectation of compensation, obtain or offer to obtain loans secured by mortgages on residential property located in Louisiana.   The term includes both lenders and brokers.
 


Last updated on August 23, 2016